Texas Tech University System Homepage

Board of Regents
Texas Tech University System 

202 Administration Building
Box 42011
Lubbock, TX 79409-2011

Phone: 806.742.2161

Fax: 806.742.4345

8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Central, Monday - Friday

Board of Regents

The Texas Legislature, in Chapters 109, 110, and in Section 51.352, Texas Education Code, has delegated to the Board of Regents of the Texas Tech University System the power and authority to govern, control and direct the policies of the TTU System.

The board is composed of nine members appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the senate for staggered terms of six years each, the term of three members expiring on January 31 of odd-numbered years. In addition to the nine members, there also is a student regent who is appointed by the governor to serve a one-year term that begins on June 1 of each year.

For more than 90 years, the institutions of the TTU System have served as a beacon of excellence in education and research on the South Plains and beyond. Throughout its history, the Board of Regents has been composed of distinguished and dedicated Texans who have been strong advocates of excellence in academic and patient care programs, meaningful scientific research and responsible public service.

Charting the Future of the TTU System


Term Expires January 31, 2017

Larry K. Anders Dallas
Debbie Montford, Vice Chairwoman San Antonio
John D. Steinmetz Dallas

Term Expires January 31, 2019

John Esparza Austin
L. Frederick "Rick" Francis El Paso
Tim Lancaster Abilene

Term Expires January 31, 2021

Mickey L. Long, Chairman Midland
Ronnie Hammonds Houston
Christopher M. Huckabee Fort Worth

Student Regent

Term Expires May 31, 2017

Jeremy Stewart El Paso