Texas Tech University System HomepageTexas Tech University System Homepage

Search Committee Named for Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center President

October 16, 2009 | Written by Sally Logue Post

Texas Tech University System Chancellor Kent Hance today (Oct. 16) named a search committee to assist in finding the next president of the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC).

“The committee that has been assembled has excellent credentials and will be an asset in helping us select a new president for the Texas Tech University Health Science Center,” Hance said.

The five-member committee is chaired by Texas Tech University System Board of Regents Vice Chairman Jerry E. Turner of Austin. He is a partner in Andrews Kurth law firm.

“Chairing this committee is a responsibility that I humbly accept and I pledge that we will use every resource available to bring the right leader to the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center,” Turner said. “As we celebrate the 40th anniversary of our School of Medicine, the very first school in the Health Sciences Center, this committee is dedicated to finding the right person to continue our tradition of excellence in research, patient care and education.”

The committee will solicit, review and screen candidates for the position before recommending a slate of people to the chancellor for his consideration. The chancellor will then consult with the Board of Regents before making a final selection.

Other members of the search committee are:

Nancy Neal, a member of the Board of Regents from Lubbock, will serve as an ex-officio member of the search committee. She will chair an advisory committee that will be appointed in the next several days to assist the search committee in identifying the most qualified candidates. The advisory committee will be made up of faculty, administrators, students and community members from cities where the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center has a presence.

The Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center is made up of the School of Medicine, the School of Allied Health Sciences, the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, the School of Pharmacy, the Anita Thigpen Perry School of Nursing, and the Paul L. Foster School of Medicine. There are campuses located in Lubbock, Amarillo, El Paso, the Permian Basin, Abilene and Dallas.