Texas Tech University System HomepageTexas Tech University System Homepage

Statement from Texas' Six Chancellors on Campus Sexual Assault Legislation

May 30, 2017 | Contact: Karen Adler: kadler@utsystem.edu  or Jenny LaCoste-Caputo: jcaputo@utsystem.edu 

We applaud the Texas Legislature, with a special recognition of Senators Kirk Watson and Joan Huffman and Representatives Carol Jeff Leach, Carol Alvarado, J.M. Lozano and John Zerwas for authoring legislation during the 85th Session that addressed the very important issue of campus sexual misconduct.

Our Systems stand committed to creating a safe environment for students and employees across our institutions. The legislation offered during the 85th Session, some of which passed and is now before Governor Abbott, complements what we currently do on our campuses related to allegations of sexual misconduct, including sexual assault, sexual harassment and dating violence.

Our institutions will maintain our robust reporting and support mechanisms to cover instances of sexual misconduct and policies to address the critical issues that arise in these situations. These practices and policies cover several important areas, including:

As Chancellors, we are responsible to our students and employees to ensure our campuses are safe. We stand committed to working with the Texas Legislature, survivor groups and others in the interim to ensure that our sexual misconduct policies are reviewed on an annual basis and that our reporting and compliance are even more efficient and robust.


William McRaven, University of Texas System                                                                                                                                       

John Sharp, Texas A&M University System                                  

Renu Khator, University of Houston System                                   

Lee Jackson, University of North Texas System

Robert Duncan, Texas Tech University System

Brian McCall, Texas State University System


About the Texas Tech University System 
Established in 1996, the Texas Tech University System is one of the top public university systems in the state of Texas and nation, consisting of four universities—Texas Tech UniversityTexas Tech University Health Sciences CenterAngelo State University and Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso.

Headquartered in Lubbock, Texas, the Texas Tech University System is a $2 billion enterprise focused on advancing higher education, health care, research and outreach with approximately 20,000 employees, more than 50,000 students, nearly 325,000 alumni and an endowment over $1.1 billion.

In its short history, the Texas Tech University System has grown tremendously and is nationally acclaimed, operating on more than a dozen campuses statewide and internationally. Under the dynamic leadership of Chancellor Robert L. Duncan, the Texas Tech University System has set forth a bold vision of excellence, collaboration and innovation and continues to prove that from here, it’s possible.