Texas Tech University System Homepage

Texas Tech Foundation Names New Directors

Texas Tech Foundation Names New DirectorsTexas Tech Foundation officials pose with new board members, from left, Chairman Donald R. Sinclair, Tim Lancaster, Clay C. Cash, Lea Wright, Dennis Kruse, Christi D. Quinn, Randall E. Morris and CEO Patrick Kramer.

Dec. 4, 2019 | Contact: Robert D. Waller

The Texas Tech Foundation announced today (Dec. 4) the addition of seven members to its board of directors.

The new directors are:

“The Texas Tech Foundation is a strategic resource for the universities we support, and our new directors bring a wealth of business, civic and nonprofit leadership experience,” said Patrick Kramer, Texas Tech Foundation CEO and Texas Tech University System vice chancellor for Institutional Advancement. “These individuals join an organization committed to the success of students and faculty, and we are excited to welcome them to the foundation board.”

Approved by the foundation’s board of directors, the new members will serve four-year terms ending Aug. 31, 2023. They join the 35-member board responsible for overseeing the foundation’s business, maximizing private gifts to the system’s universities and stewarding donor interests.

“I appreciate the Board Membership and Governance Committee’s diligence in identifying talented alumni and individuals who have a passion for the Texas Tech University System and will add to our board’s depth and expertise,” said Donald R. Sinclair, the Texas Tech Foundation’s chairman. “I also want to thank our new members for their willingness to serve an organization committed to the life-changing work of the universities we support.”

For more than 75 years, the Texas Tech Foundation has partnered with the Texas Tech University System to inspire and support philanthropy across the system’s four universities. The nonprofit organization is independently led by a volunteer board of directors who safeguard generations of charitable gifts. Through contributions to the Texas Tech Foundation, alumni and donors sustain the system’s universities and empower students and faculty to pursue bold ideas that impact lives throughout Texas and the world.

About the Texas Tech University System 
Established in 1996 and headquartered in Lubbock, Texas, the Texas Tech University System is a $2 billion higher education enterprise focused on advancing higher education, health care, research and community outreach. Consisting of four universities – Texas Tech University, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Angelo State University and Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso – the TTU System collectively has approximately 55,000 students, 17 campuses statewide and internationally, more than 300,000 alumni and an endowment valued at over $1.3 billion.

During the 86th Texas Legislature under the leadership of Chancellor Dr. Tedd L. Mitchell, legislative funding and authority was provided to establish a new Texas Tech University veterinary school in Amarillo and a new dental school at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso. This will be the state’s first veterinary school in more than a century and first dental school in over 50 years. The addition of these two schools makes the Texas Tech University System one of only nine in the nation to offer programs for undergraduate, medical, law, nursing, pharmacy, dental and veterinary education, among other academic areas.