Texas Tech University System HomepageTexas Tech University System Homepage

Angelo State University President Brian May Resigns, Angie Wright Named Interim President

April 11, 2020 | Contact: Scott Lacefield

Message from Chairman Chirstopher M. Huckabee

Angelo State University (ASU) President Brian J. May tendered his resignation Friday, April 10. May served as the president since Nov. 7, 2012.

“The chairman of the Texas Tech University System Board of Regents and I have accepted Brian’s resignation as president of Angelo State University,” said Dr. Tedd L. Mitchell, chancellor of the Texas Tech University System. "We wish Brian and his family well.”

Angie Wright, vice president for finance and administration, will serve as the interim president, effective immediately.

Wright, a graduate of ASU, has been a member of the Ram Family community for more than three decades. She assumed her current duties in 2014, following 15 months as the interim vice president for finance administration. She joined the university in 1991 as a payroll coordinator after five years in the private sector. She was named ASU’s manager of business services in 1999. She was promoted to budget director in 2003 and then in 2005 received the responsibilities for payroll services as well.

In 2006 Wright advanced to assistant vice president for finance and administration and then to associate vice president in 2007. She remained in this position until her appointment as interim vice president in March 2013.

In the coming weeks, Mitchell and the Board of Regents will announce plans detailing the presidential search process.

About the Texas Tech University System
Established in 1996 and headquartered in Lubbock, Texas, the Texas Tech University System is a $2 billion higher education enterprise focused on advancing higher education, health care, research and community outreach. Consisting of four universities – Texas Tech University, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Angelo State University and Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso – the TTU System collectively has approximately 55,000 students, 17 campuses statewide and internationally, more than 300,000 alumni and an endowment valued at over $1.3 billion.

During the 86th Texas Legislature under the leadership of Chancellor Dr. Tedd L. Mitchell, legislative funding and authority was provided to establish a new Texas Tech University veterinary school in Amarillo and a new dental school at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso. This will be the state’s first veterinary school in more than a century and first dental school in over 50 years. The addition of these two schools makes the TTU System one of only nine in the nation to offer programs for undergraduate, medical, law, nursing, pharmacy, dental and veterinary education, among other academic areas.