Texas Tech University System Homepage

Texas Tech University System Regents to Meet March 1-2

Board of Regents

The Board of Regents is composed of nine members appointed by the governor, as well as a student regent.

Throughout the history of the TTU System, the board has been composed of distinguished and dedicated Texans who have been strong advocates of excellence in academic and patient care programs, meaningful scientific research and responsible public service.



Regents will have a two-day meeting in El Paso at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso Medical Education Building.

The Texas Tech University System Board of Regents will meet Thursday and Friday (March 1-2) in El Paso, Texas. The meeting will take place in the Jonathan and Patricia Rogers Lecture Hall, First Floor (Room 1100) in the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso Medical Education Building (5001 El Paso Drive).

This marks the fourth time a TTU System Board of Regents will be held in El Paso and the first time since 2012. The last time a board meeting was held at a non-Lubbock campus of the TTU System was in 2015 at Angelo State University (San Angelo, Texas).

Below are highlights of the topics and items to be discussed at the upcoming meeting, including estimated times with periodic recesses. Meeting materials and a live stream of the meeting will be available online. Parking for news media is available in the parking lot off of El Paso Drive, just east of the Medical Education Building lawn.


Thursday, March 1 (all times listed are Mountain Standard Time)

10:15 a.m. – Call to Order; convene Meeting of the Board

2:00 p.m. – Finance and Administration Committee

2:30 p.m. – Academic, Clinical and Student Affairs Committee

3:00 p.m. – Audit Committee

3:30 p.m. – Facilities Committee

3:50 p.m. – Executive Session

4:30 p.m. – Following Executive Session, the Board will reconvene into open session and recess for the day


Friday, March 2

8:30 a.m. MT – Call to order; reconvene Meeting of the Board

9:00 a.m. – Executive Session (if necessary)

11:30 a.m. – Following Executive Session, the Board will reconvene into open session

11:30 a.m. – Adjournment


About the Texas Tech University System 

Established in 1996, the Texas Tech University System is one of the top public university systems in the state of Texas and nation, consisting of four universities—Texas Tech UniversityTexas Tech University Health Sciences CenterAngelo State University and Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso.

Headquartered in Lubbock, Texas, the TTU System is a $2 billion enterprise focused on advancing higher education, health care, research and outreach with approximately 20,000 employees, nearly 53,000 students, more than 330,000 alumni and an endowment over $1.2 billion.

In its short history, the TTU System has grown tremendously and is nationally acclaimed, operating on 17 campuses statewide and internationally. Under the dynamic leadership of Chancellor Robert Duncan, the Texas Tech University System has set forth a bold vision of excellence, collaboration and innovation and continues to prove that from here, it’s possible.