Texas Tech University System Homepage

Texas Tech University System Regents to Convene for Special Called Meeting in Wichita Falls

Board of Regents

The Board of Regents is composed of nine members appointed by the governor, as well as a student regent.

Throughout the history of the TTU System, the board has been composed of distinguished and dedicated Texans who have been strong advocates of excellence in academic and patient care programs, meaningful scientific research and responsible public service.



Aug. 30, 2021 | Contact: Scott Lacefield

WHAT:        The Board of Regents of the Texas Tech University System will meet for a special called meeting

WHEN:        9 a.m., Wednesday (Sept. 1) | Livestream

WHERE:     Clark Student Center Comanche Suites, Midwestern State University (MSU Texas), 3410 Taft Blvd., Wichita Falls, Texas, 76308

EVENT:        Members of the Board of Regents and Tedd L. Mitchell, M.D., chancellor of the TTU System, will gather for a ceremonial, special called meeting to welcome MSU Texas as the fifth member institution of the TTU System. Leadership and administration from the component universities of the TTU System will be in attendance for the historic meeting

About the Texas Tech University System 
Established in 1996 and headquartered in Lubbock, Texas, the Texas Tech University System is a $2 billion, higher-education enterprise focused on advancing higher education, health care, research and community outreach. Consisting of four universities – Texas Tech University, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Angelo State University and Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso – the TTU System collectively has approximately 57,000 students, 21 academic locations in 18 cities (16 in Texas, 2 internationally), more than 300,000 alumni and an endowment valued at over $1.3 billion.

The TTU System is preparing to welcome Midwestern State University as its fifth member institution during the 25th-anniversary of the system. On June 8, 2021, Gov. Greg Abbott signed H.B. 1522 officially transferring MSU Texas to the TTU System, effective Sept. 1, 2021. MSU Texas, located in Wichita Falls, is known for its strong programs in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences as well as accredited professional programs in mechanical engineering, social work, nursing, radiologic science, respiratory care, athletics training and business, among others. MSU Texas is the only Texas university to become a member of the Council of Public Liberal Arts Colleges. Students at MSU Texas choose from more than 60 majors and several pre-professional programs, are active in more than 100 student organizations and bring a spirit of competition to 13 NCAA Division II athletics programs.

For TTU System news and updates, follow us on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn and YouTube – @TTUSystem.

CONTACT:  Scott Lacefield, executive director of media relations & communications, Office of the Chancellor, Texas Tech University System, (806) 742-0012 or scott.lacefield@ttu.edu

CONTACT:  Julie Gaynor, director of marketing & public information, Midwestern State University, (940) 397-4352 or julie.gaynor@msutexas.edu