Texas Tech University System Homepage

Search Committee Formed for Texas Tech University President Position

March 20, 2008 | Written by Catherine Paige

Texas Tech University

Chancellor Kent Hance has named a 10-member search committee to assist in selecting the next president of Texas Tech University.

“The members of this group are of the highest caliber and I am confident their search, which will commence as soon as possible, will yield the most qualified candidates in the nation,” said Chancellor Hance. 

The Search Committee and a 21-member Advisory Council that will assist the Search Committee, includes representatives of key constituencies, such as students, faculty, staff, alumni and the Lubbock community. Bob L. Stafford, M.D., of Amarillo, member of the Board of Regents and retired orthopedic surgeon, will lead the group.

“We have an outstanding group of individuals who have agreed to serve and I look forward to working with each and every one of them,” said Regent Stafford. 

The committee will help identify potential candidates, assist with initial screenings of candidates and ensure that their respective constituency groups are kept up-to-date on the progress of the search. Candidate recommendations will be forwarded on to the Chancellor.  The final selection will be made by the Chancellor, who will seek confirmation of his choice by the Board of Regents.

"We have an outstanding group of individuals who have agreed to serve and we are looking forward to the collaboration between the search committee and the advisory committee," Hance said.

Other members of the Search Committee include:

Jon Whitmore resigned as the 14th president of Texas Tech University on Feb. 1.  He will remain in the post for one year or until a replacement is selected. Whitmore has served as president since September 2003.