Texas Tech University System HomepageTexas Tech University System Homepage

Search Committee Named for 16th Texas Tech University President

The committee is chaired by Jerry E. Turner, chairman of the Board of Regents and alumnus.

August 22, 2012 | Written by Jaryn Jones

Texas Tech University System Chancellor Kent Hance today (Aug. 22) named a search committee to assist in selecting the next president of Texas Tech.

“This is an outstanding group of individuals,” Hance said. “I am confident this group will help me identify the qualities of leadership needed by our next president to continue the current momentum at Texas Tech.”

The 10-member committee is chaired by Jerry E. Turner, chairman of the Board of Regents and a 1968 graduate of Texas Tech.

“We are determined to assist the chancellor in finding the most qualified candidate for this position,” Turner said. “Our university is expanding, and its greatest days lie ahead. We aim to identify candidates who are qualified and ready to guide Texas Tech toward its goal of greater national recognition as a teaching and research institution.”

The committee will help identify potential candidates, assist with initial screenings and ensure that their respective constituency groups are kept up to date on the progress of the search. Candidate recommendations will be forwarded on to the chancellor. The final selection will be made by the chancellor, who will make the appointment with the prior approval of the Board of Regents.

Members of the search committee include:

There will also be six non-voting members of the committee. Non-voting members will include the following individuals:

 Lawrence Schovanec, who has served as dean of the College of Arts & Sciences since 2010, was recently named interim president by the chancellor and assumes the duties of president until a replacement is named. AGB Search has been retained to assist with the search committee.