Texas Tech University System HomepageTexas Tech University System Homepage

Advisory Council Named for 16th Texas Tech University President Search

The 26-member council is chaired by Regent Nancy Neal and represents a larger constituency of the Texas Tech family.

September 12, 2012 | Written by Jaryn Jones

Texas Tech University System Chancellor Kent Hance today (September 12) named an advisory council to assist in selecting the next president of Texas Tech University.

“The advisory council will serve as a valuable resource to our search process,” Hance said. “This group of individuals will offer a variety of perspectives as we seek to find the ideal candidate for the next president of Texas Tech University.”

The 26-member council is chaired by Nancy Neal, member of the Board of Regents and a 1985 graduate of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center. Former Regent Scott Dueser will serve as the vice chairman.

Neal said the advisory council serves as a larger representation of the university and includes representatives from several Texas Tech constituencies including faculty, administration, staff, students and community members.

“As Texas Tech continues to grow, it is imperative that we identify a leader who will drive our forward progress,” Neal said. “We are seeking a large and diverse pool of applicants to ensure we find the best possible candidate for the next president. The advisory council will assist Chancellor Hance and the search committee in identifying individuals that relate to all members of the Texas Tech family.”

The council will also help with initial screenings and provide updates on the progress of the search to their respective constituency groups. Candidate recommendations will be forwarded on to the chancellor. The final selection will be made by the chancellor, who will make the appointment with the prior approval of the Board of Regents.

Members of the advisory council include:

The advisory council will work in conjunction with the 17-member presidential search committee. Daniel Nathan, faculty senate president, was added to the search committee as a voting member. Nathan serves as an associate professor and the director of graduate studies in the Texas Tech University Department of Philosophy.

Dr. Lawrence Schovanec, who has served as dean of the College of Arts & Sciences since 2010, was recently named interim president by the chancellor and will assume the duties of president until a replacement is named. AGB Search has been retained to assist with the search committee.