Texas Tech University System HomepageTexas Tech University System Homepage

TTU System Honors Top Faculty Members with Chancellor’s Council Awards

Chancellor Tedd L. Mitchell and university presidents recognize the system’s top faculty with teaching and research awards.

January 29, 2019 | Contact: Scott Lacefield

Recipient Bios

Throughout the month of January, Texas Tech University System Chancellor Dr. Tedd L. Mitchell recognized 13 faculty members from the TTU System’s four institutions as recipients of the 2019 Chancellor’s Council Distinguished Teaching and Research Awards. These awards recognize excellence in academics and research, and are the most prestigious honors given to faculty members within the TTU System.

“I’m proud of the world-class innovation and excellence these faculty members exhibit and the unparalleled education and mentorship they provide to our students,” Mitchell said. “It is an honor to recognize these individuals and the many ways they power our mission to solve problems and change lives. I am thankful they choose to lend their talents and leadership to the institutions of the Texas Tech University System.”

The awards are made possible through philanthropic gifts to the Chancellor’s Council, a giving society that supports Mitchell’s priorities of impacting student lives through scholarships, recognizing faculty achievement and encouraging excellence across the TTU System. Since the teaching and research awards were established by the council in 2001, 178 faculty have received awards totaling $1.1 million. 

Award recipients each receive a $5,000 stipend and an engraved medallion. 

“Through their annual gifts, Chancellor’s Council members make it possible for us to honor these outstanding faculty and do so much more across our universities,” Mitchell said. “These donors are part of the great things happening here, and I appreciate their continued support.”

2019 Chancellor’s Council Distinguished Teaching and Research Awards:

Texas Tech University:

Angelo State University:

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center:

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso:

About the Texas Tech University System 
Established in 1996, the Texas Tech University System is one of the top public university systems in the state of Texas and nation, consisting of four universities—Texas Tech UniversityTexas Tech University Health Sciences CenterAngelo State University and Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso

Headquartered in Lubbock, Texas, the TTU System is a $2 billion enterprise focused on advancing higher education, health care, research and outreach with approximately 20,000 employees, over 54,000 students, more than 340,000 alumni and an endowment over $1.3 billion.

In its short history, the TTU System has grown tremendously and is nationally acclaimed, operating on 17 campuses statewide and internationally. Under the dynamic leadership of Chancellor Dr. Tedd L. Mitchell, the TTU System has set forth a bold vision of excellence, collaboration and innovation and continues to prove that from here, it’s possible. 

TTU Chancellor's Council Winners

TTUHSC Chancellor's Council Awards

Texas Tech University

(L-to-R): President Lawrence Schovanec, J Chance Brooks, Andrew Littlefield, Alan Shinn, Tracy Pearl, Brie Sherwin, Chancellor Tedd L. Mitchell


Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

(L-to-R): Chancellor & TTUHSC President Tedd L. Mitchell, Vardan Karamyan, Min Hee Kang, Steven Sawyer, Donna Owen

ASU Chancellor's Council Winners

TTUHSC El Paso Chancellor's Council Award Winners

Angelo State University

(L-to-R): President Brian May, Andrew Wallace, Joseph Satterfield, Chancellor Tedd L. Mitchell 

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
El Paso

(L-to-R): Chancellor Tedd L. Mitchell, Charmaine Martin, President Richard Lange