Texas Tech University System HomepageTexas Tech University System Homepage

TTU System Regents to Convene for Special-Called Meeting

Board of Regents

The Board of Regents is composed of nine members appointed by the governor, as well as a student regent.

Throughout the history of the TTU System, the board has been composed of distinguished and dedicated Texans who have been strong advocates of excellence in academic and patient care programs, meaningful scientific research and responsible public service.



Members of the Board of Regents to Convene for Special-Called Meeting

April 3, 2020 | Contact: Scott Lacefield

WHAT:          The Board of Regents of the Texas Tech University System will meet via teleconference during a special-called meeting

WHEN:          2 p.m., Monday (April 6) | Livestream

WHERE:        Teleconference meeting – via livestream

EVENT:         Members of the Board of Regents and TTU System leadership will discuss issues related to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) and consider delegations of authority to provide services and support and to maintain necessary and essential operations during emergencies and exigent circumstances.

NOTE:            The TTU System and its component institutions are operating in Phase IV emergency remote work operations, which has closed normal day-to-day campus operations and restricted the on-campus presence to only essential personnel. The TTU System Building is open only to essential personnel. Members of the public and media should participate through viewing the livestream.

About the Texas Tech University System
Established in 1996 and headquartered in Lubbock, Texas, the Texas Tech University System is a $2 billion higher education enterprise focused on advancing higher education, health care, research and community outreach. Consisting of four universities – Texas Tech University, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Angelo State University and Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso – the TTU System collectively has approximately 55,000 students, 17 campuses statewide and internationally, more than 300,000 alumni and an endowment valued at over $1.3 billion.

During the 86th Texas Legislature under the leadership of Chancellor Dr. Tedd L. Mitchell, legislative funding and authority was provided to establish a new Texas Tech University veterinary school in Amarillo and a new dental school at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso. This will be the state’s first veterinary school in more than a century and first dental school in over 50 years. The addition of these two schools makes the Texas Tech University System one of only nine in the nation to offer programs for undergraduate, medical, law, nursing, pharmacy, dental and veterinary education, among other academic areas.