Texas Tech University System HomepageTexas Tech University System Homepage

Texas Tech University System Regents to Meet Via Videoconference May 14

Board of Regents

The Board of Regents is composed of nine members appointed by the governor, as well as a student regent.

Throughout the history of the TTU System, the board has been composed of distinguished and dedicated Texans who have been strong advocates of excellence in academic and patient care programs, meaningful scientific research and responsible public service.



Regents will meet virtually for a one-day videoconference on Thursday.

May 12, 2020 | Contact: Scott Lacefield

The Texas Tech University System Board of Regents will meet virtually Thursday (May 14) for its regularly-scheduled May meeting. Members of the board, Chancellor Tedd L. Mitchell, M.D., and university presidents will join other meeting participants virtually while the meeting livestream is available for the public and media.

Below are highlights of the topics and items to be discussed at the upcoming meeting, including estimated times with periodic recesses. Meeting materials and a livestream of the meeting will be available online.

Thursday, May 14

10:00 a.m. – Call to order; convene as Meeting of the Board and Committee of the Whole Board

11:00 a.m. – Executive Session

1:30 p.m. – Following Executive Session, reconvene into Open Session as Committee of the Whole

1:40 p.m. – Adjournment

NOTE: The TTU System and its component institutions are operating in Phase IV emergency remote work operations, which has closed normal day-to-day campus operations and restricted the on-campus presence to only essential personnel. The TTU System Building is open only to essential personnel. Members of the public and media should participate through viewing the livestream.

About the Texas Tech University System 

Established in 1996 and headquartered in Lubbock, Texas, the Texas Tech University System is a $2 billion higher education enterprise focused on advancing higher education, health care, research and community outreach. Consisting of four universities – Texas Tech University, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Angelo State University and Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso – the TTU System collectively has approximately 55,000 students, 17 campuses statewide and internationally, more than 300,000 alumni and an endowment valued at over $1.3 billion.

During the 86th Texas Legislature under the leadership of Chancellor Dr. Tedd L. Mitchell, legislative funding and authority was provided to establish a new Texas Tech University veterinary school in Amarillo and a new dental school at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso. This will be the state’s first veterinary school in more than a century and first dental school in over 50 years. The addition of these two schools makes the Texas Tech University System one of only nine in the nation to offer programs for undergraduate, medical, law, nursing, pharmacy, dental and veterinary education, among other academic areas.