Texas Tech University System HomepageTexas Tech University System Homepage

Texas Tech University System Regents to Meet October 16

Board of Regents

The Board of Regents is composed of nine members appointed by the governor, as well as a student regent.

Throughout the history of the TTU System, the board has been composed of distinguished and dedicated Texans who have been strong advocates of excellence in academic and patient care programs, meaningful scientific research and responsible public service.



Regents will have a one-day meeting in Lubbock at the Texas Tech University System Building with participants joining virtually and in-person.

October 15, 2020 | Contact: Scott Lacefield

The Texas Tech University System Board of Regents will meet Friday (Oct. 16) in Lubbock. The one-day hybrid meeting will take place in the Regents Conference Room, First Floor (104A) in the Texas Tech University System Building (1508 Knoxville Avenue).

Below are highlights of the topics and items to be discussed at the upcoming meeting, including estimated times with periodic recesses. Meeting materials and a livestream of the meeting will be available online. Parking for news media is available in the C-16 Commuter West parking lot off of Knoxville Avenue and Texas Tech Parkway.

NOTE: Due to social distancing protocols implemented at the TTU System Building during the coronavirus pandemic, members of the public and media are encouraged to participate in the meeting through viewing the livestream. There will be limited occupancy capacity in the meeting room, and meeting participants will be joining virtually, if necessary, and in-person for the hybrid meeting.

Friday, October 16

10:00 a.m. – Call to order; convene as Meeting of the Board and Committee of the Whole Board

10:50 a.m. – Recess

10:50 a.m. – Academic, Clinical and Student Affairs Committee

11:20 a.m. – Audit Committee

11:30 a.m. – Facilities Committee

12:05 p.m. – Executive Session

3:00 p.m. – Adjournment

About the Texas Tech University System
Established in 1996 and headquartered in Lubbock, Texas, the Texas Tech University System is a $2 billion higher education enterprise focused on advancing higher education, health care, research and community outreach. Consisting of four universities – Texas Tech University, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Angelo State University and Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso – the TTU System collectively has approximately 55,000 students, 17 campuses statewide and internationally, more than 300,000 alumni and an endowment valued at over $1.3 billion.

During the 86th Texas Legislature under the leadership of Chancellor Tedd L. Mitchell, M.D., legislative funding and authority was provided to establish a new Texas Tech University veterinary school in Amarillo and a new dental school at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso. This will be the state’s first veterinary school in more than a century and first dental school in over 50 years. The addition of these two schools makes the Texas Tech University System one of only nine in the nation to offer programs for undergraduate, medical, law, nursing, pharmacy, dental and veterinary education, among other academic areas.