Texas Tech University System Homepage

Texas Tech University System Receives Significant Investment from Texas Legislature

The TTU System, and its component institutions, received more than $300 million in support following the third legislative special session.

Nov. 4, 2021 | Contact: Scott Lacefield

The Texas Tech University System (TTU System) and its component institutions have received a significant investment from the State of Texas supporting higher education and health care.

In total, the Texas Legislature authorized $3.35 billion for specific capital construction projects for public institutions across the state.

“With the conclusion of the legislative special session, our system and university leadership and I applaud the work and efforts of our local legislative delegation and elected officials across the state who are champions for higher education and health care,” said Tedd L. Mitchell, M.D., chancellor of the TTU System.

“The state has made a remarkable investment for our system that will advance our institutions’ academic and research excellence, student success and campus construction projects that align with the missions of our universities,” Mitchell said.

“This steadfast and dedicated commitment from our West Texas legislative leaders supports our universities’ world-class research, innovation in health care and ability to develop workforce-ready graduates who serve our communities and this great state,” Mitchell added.

Tuition Revenue Bonds – Capital Construction Assistance Projects: 

TTU System total: $299.4M

  • ·  Texas Tech University: $72,000,000
  • ·  TTU Center at Junction: $8,000,000
  • ·  Angelo State University: $36,000,000
  • ·  Midwestern State University: $44,922,833
  • ·  Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC): $59,897,111
  • ·  TTUHSC Midland Physician Assistant Program: $18,717,847
  • ·  Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso: $59,897,111

About the Texas Tech University System 

Established in 1996, the Texas Tech University System is one of the top public university systems in the nation, consisting of five universities – Texas Tech University, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Angelo State University, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso and Midwestern State University.

Headquartered in Lubbock, Texas, the TTU System is a $2.5 billion enterprise focused on advancing higher education, health care, research and outreach with approximately 21,000 employees, more than 63,000 students, nearly 370,000 alumni and an endowment valued at $1.7 billion. In its short history, the TTU System has grown tremendously and is nationally acclaimed, operating at 24 academic locations in 21 cities (19 in Texas, 2 international).

During the 87th Texas Legislature under the leadership of Chancellor Tedd L. Mitchell, M.D., the TTU System welcomed MSU Texas as its fifth member institution during the 25-year anniversary of the system. MSU Texas is the only Texas university to become a member of the Council of Public Liberal Arts Colleges. Students at MSU Texas choose from more than 60 majors and several pre-professional programs, are active in more than 100 student organizations and bring a spirit of competition to 13 NCAA Division II athletics programs.

In addition, the TTU System is one of only nine in the nation to offer programs for undergraduate, medical, law, nursing, pharmacy, dental and veterinary education, among other academic areas.