Texas Tech University System HomepageTexas Tech University System Homepage

Texas Tech University System Regents to Meet Feb. 24 in El Paso

Board of Regents

The Board of Regents is composed of nine members appointed by the governor, as well as a student regent.

Throughout the history of the TTU System, the board has been composed of distinguished and dedicated Texans who have been strong advocates of excellence in academic and patient care programs, meaningful scientific research and responsible public service.



Regents will have a one-day meeting in El Paso at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso Medical Sciences Building II.

Feb. 22, 2022 | Contact: Scott Lacefield

The Texas Tech University System (TTU System) Board of Regents will meet Thursday (Feb. 24) in El Paso on the campus of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso. The meeting will take place in the Medical Sciences Building II, First Floor, Room 1A103 (137 Rick Francis St.).

This marks the fifth time a Board of Regents meeting will be held in El Paso and the first since 2018. The board also held meetings in El Paso in 2000, 2008 and 2012. The last time a board meeting was hosted outside of the TTU System Building was in 2020 at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Amarillo campus.

Overall, there have been 12 board meetings held outside of Lubbock at a TTU System campus location since 1999.

Below are highlights of the topics and items to be discussed at the upcoming meeting, including estimated times with periodic recesses. Meeting materials and a livestream of the meeting are available online.

Thursday, Feb. 24 (all times are Mountain Standard Time)

10:00 a.m. – Call to order; convene as Meeting of the Board and Committee of the Whole Board

10:30 a.m. – Academic, Clinical and Student Affairs Committee

11:10 a.m. – Audit Committee

11:20 a.m. – Facilities Committee

11:35 a.m. – Finance and Investments Committee

12:05 p.m. – Call to order; reconvene as Meeting of the Board and Committee of the Whole Board

12:10 p.m. – Executive Session

3:50 p.m. – Following Executive Session, reconvene into Open Session as Committee of the Whole Board

4:00 p.m. – Adjournment

About the Texas Tech University System
Established in 1996, the Texas Tech University System is one of the top public university systems in the nation, consisting of five universities – Texas Tech University, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Angelo State University, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso and Midwestern State University.

Headquartered in Lubbock, Texas, the TTU System is a $2.5 billion enterprise focused on advancing higher education, health care, research and outreach with approximately 21,000 employees, more than 63,000 students, nearly 370,000 alumni and an endowment valued at $1.7 billion. In its short history, the TTU System has grown tremendously and is nationally acclaimed, operating at 24 academic locations in 21 cities (19 in Texas, 2 international).

During the 87th Texas Legislature under the leadership of Chancellor Tedd L. Mitchell, M.D., the TTU System welcomed MSU Texas as its fifth member institution during the 25-year anniversary of the system. MSU Texas is the only Texas university to become a member of the Council of Public Liberal Arts Colleges. Students at MSU Texas choose from more than 60 majors and several pre-professional programs, are active in more than 100 student organizations and bring a spirit of competition to 13 NCAA Division II athletics programs.

In addition, the TTU System is one of only nine in the nation to offer programs for undergraduate, medical, law, nursing, pharmacy, dental and veterinary education, among other academic areas.