Texas Tech University System HomepageTexas Tech University System Homepage

Texas Tech University System Regents to Meet Feb. 29-March 1 in Wichita Falls

Board of Regents

The Board of Regents is composed of nine members appointed by the governor, as well as a student regent.

Throughout the history of the TTU System, the board has been composed of distinguished and dedicated Texans who have been strong advocates of excellence in academic and patient care programs, meaningful scientific research and responsible public service.



Feb. 28, 2024 | Contact: Scott Lacefield

The Texas Tech University System (TTU System) Board of Regents will meet Thursday and Friday (Feb. 29-March 1) in Wichita Falls on the campus of Midwestern State University (MSU Texas). The meeting will take place in the Clark Student Center Comanche Suites (Room 135) at MSU Texas (3410 Taft Blvd.).

This marks the first time a regularly scheduled Board of Regents meeting will be held in Wichita Falls. The previous board meeting held in Wichita Falls on the MSU Texas campus was a special-called meeting to celebrate the institution joining the TTU System in 2021.

This meeting is the fifth out-of-town, regularly scheduled meeting during the tenure of Chancellor Tedd L. Mitchell, M.D., which has included meetings in Amarillo (2020), El Paso (2022), San Angelo (2022), Odessa (2023) and now Wichita Falls (2024).

Overall, there have been 16 regularly scheduled board meetings held at TTU System campuses outside of Lubbock since 1999, including this meeting in Wichita Falls.

Below are highlights of the topics and items to be discussed at the upcoming meeting, including estimated times with periodic recesses. Meeting materials and a livestream of the meeting are available online.

Thursday, Feb. 29

9:30 a.m. – Call to order; convene as Meeting of the Board and Committee of the Whole Board

9:45 a.m. – Finance and Investments Committee

10:15 a.m. – Academic, Clinical and Student Affairs Committee

11:15 a.m. – Audit Committee

11:35 p.m. – Facilities Committee

11:45 a.m. – Executive Session

3:20 p.m. – Following Executive Session, reconvene into Open Session as Committee of the Whole

3:30 p.m. – Recess

Friday, March 1

8:30 a.m. – Call to order; reconvene as Meeting of the Board and Committee of the Whole Board

9:45 a.m. – Executive Session, if necessary

10:45 a.m. – Following Executive Session, reconvene into Open Session as Committee of the Whole

11:00 a.m. – Adjournment

About the Texas Tech University System 

Established in 1996, the Texas Tech University System is one of the top public university systems in the nation, consisting of five universities – Texas Tech University, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Angelo State University, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso and Midwestern State University.

Headquartered in Lubbock, Texas, the TTU System is a nearly $3 billion enterprise focused on advancing higher education, health care, research and outreach with approximately 21,000 employees and 63,000 students, nearly 400,000 alumni, a statewide economic impact of $16.4 billion and an endowment valued at $1.7 billion. In its short history, the TTU System has grown tremendously and is nationally acclaimed, operating at 24 academic locations in 20 cities (18 in Texas, 2 international).

In addition, the TTU System is one of only nine in the nation to offer programs for undergraduate, medical, law, nursing, pharmacy, dental and veterinary education, among other academic areas.