Texas Tech University System Homepage

Officers Elected for Board of Regents

side Image

The Board of Regents is composed of nine members appointed by the governor, as well as a student regent.

Throughout the history of the TTU System, the board has been composed of distinguished and dedicated Texans who have been strong advocates of excellence in academic and patient care programs, meaningful scientific research and responsible public service.

Long re-elected as chairman and Montford elected as vice chairwoman.

April 7, 2015 | Written by Doug Hensley

The Texas Tech University System Board of Regents announced Tuesday (April 7, 2015) that Mickey Long has been elected chairman of the board while Debbie Montford has been elected vice chairwoman.

The announcement was made following a specially called teleconference meeting for the sole purpose of electing officers for the next two years. Both officers were elected unanimously and will begin their terms immediately. The next regularly scheduled Board of Regents meeting is set for May 14-15 in Lubbock.

Long, recently reappointed to the TTU System Board of Regents by Gov. Greg Abbott and confirmed by the Texas Senate, will serve as board chairman for a second consecutive term.

Long, president of Westex/WLP Well Service in Midland, is a member of the Association of Energy Service Companies and the Texas Tech University Hall of Legacy.  He earned a bachelor’s degree from Angelo State University in 1976 and was originally appointed to the board in 2009 by former Gov. Rick Perry.

Montford, of San Antonio, was appointed to the Board of Regents by Gov. Perry on Nov. 12, 2010, and reappointed Feb. 1, 2011. She attended Texas Tech University and the University of Texas. In addition to her duties on the Board of Regents, she serves as chairwoman and president of the Dolph and Janey Briscoe Western Art Museum Board of Directors and is an advisory director for the Plum Foundation.

Long said he will announce committee assignments for board members within the next few days.

About the Texas Tech University System 
The Texas Tech University System is one of the top public university systems in the nation, consisting of four component institutions—Texas Tech UniversityTexas Tech University Health Sciences CenterAngelo State University and Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso—and operating at 12 academic sites and centers.  Headquartered in Lubbock, Texas, the Texas Tech University System has an annual operating budget of $1.7 billion and approximately 17,000 employees focused on advancing higher education, health care, research and outreach. 

In 2014, the Texas Tech University System’s endowment exceeded $1 billion, total research expenditures were approximately $200 million and total enrollment approached 47,000 students. Whether it’s contributing billions of dollars annually in economic impact or being the only system in Texas to house an academic institution, law school, and health institution at the same location, the Texas Tech University System continues to prove that anything is possible.